Paranoia

Scene: Popular city centre deli, provider of chicken paella. Its extremely busy and the servers deal with customers very quickly.

Amy enters stage right.

Server: Next customer for the carvery please!
Amy: Hello! Can I have a chicken paella to take away please?
Server: Certainly madam! Would you like unions and salsa with that?
Amy: Yes please!
Server: That’ll be £4.50 please

Amy gives the server a £5 note. The man gives her back a 50p piece and then proceeds to shovel a ridiculous quantity of paella into a carton. Another lady piles on generous amounts of piri-piri chicken.

Server: There you go sir. Sorry, madam.

Amy looks shocked, and slowly turns and walks, crestfallen, out of the deli. She sulks for the rest of the day.

THE NEXT DAY

Scene: a studio. Everyone has gone home except Amy and her good looking, very clearly female colleague.

Colleague: Hows the healing going?
Amy: OK thanks. Do you think my surgery results were good?
Colleague: Oh definitely. You still look like you, but more female.
Amy: Oh that’s good, I just got worried because someone called me sir yesterday. He corrected himself, but it made me wonder.
Colleague: That happened to me the other day in Popular Coffee Shop. But he looked right at me, called me something male, I can’t remember what, then didn’t even correct himself, just carried on looking at me. I stood there waiting for him to correct himself!

 

MORAL OF THE STORY:

Stop being so paranoid Amy. Not everything is an attack on how you look/transphobic comment/indication of how well you pass.

One thought on “Paranoia

Leave a comment